Impromptu Lunch Date

You ever have one of those days where you pack your own lunch and decide that you don’t want to eat it when lunch time comes?  Me too!!

I decided last minute that I didn’t want to eat my boring lunch so I walked into the “lion’s den” – the cafeteria- to buy me some school cafeteria lunch. After scoping out the premises, I decided to head on in and brave the attack of kids that would bombard me with questions and greetings. I pushed right past them cause my stomach was in the need for some mass assembled goodness.  I decided on a lunch meat wrap, with some fries and an apple…all for under 5 bucks!  JACKPOT!!

I was going to head into my room and quickly shovel lunch down my throat, but I was invited by one of my students to join them for lunch. I thought to myself, who’s doing the good deed here? My students, who probably would rather eat lunch with their own peers than eat lunch with their teacher, invited me to join them for lunch.

We ate lunch, talked about the day’s news, which involved pop stars that I didn’t really know, and one even shared her bag of cookies with the entire table!  I actually enjoyed eating with 4 middle schoolers.

I didn’t even realized this was a good deed until I saw one of my Assistant Principals. She questioned me as to why I was eating with them. I explained my story and said it was just for fun. She said, “That was a good thing you did.”  I was content with my decision.

I think it is great to reach out of your comfort zone once in a while. You may learn something new. You may make new friends. Try it…you may like it.

Have you ever had lunch with people you don’t normally dine with?  Tell me about it…I’m listening.

I'm a regular guy with a regular job. I write for fun, self-reflection and to possibly impart some of my thoughts on those that will listen. I do not claim to be an expert on anything, but have opinions on many things.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Good Deeds

Leave a Reply

The Next ChallengeMarch 1st, 2015
The next challenge is right around the corner!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

