So Many Steps

Argus

I should really UP my coffee intake

I’m a week into this month of “healthiness,” and I must say…I suck at it. Out of the 7 days of January, I’ve already had 4 cheat days. Not a good start. Don’t worry…as I know so many of you are…I’m back on track.

Changing my eating habits is something that is proving to be difficult. Instead of eating everything in sight, I must train my body to eat at specific times during the day. That sucks. I like to eat when I’m bored or stressed. What fun is it eating when you’re supposed to?…none fun. I also eat during my commute home, but this serves a very important function. I like to call this “survival snacking.” I nosh to stay awake while driving home. There have been a few times where I find myself doing the drooping head bob because I’m exhausted. Snacking keeps my jaw moving which, in turn, keeps me awake. And I have actually tried to just move my jaw in the motion of snacking to trick my brain to think I have something in my mouth…my brain is too smart for that.

So far, the one bright spot of my week has been the amount of steps I have taken.  I have been using and app call Argus to keep track of certain aspects of my life. The app uses my GPS location and calculates the amount of steps I must have taken based on my movement. Not sure how accurate it is, but so far I have taken a total of 50,889 steps in seven days. This is probably an understatement, since I don’t always have my phone on me.

I’m assuming that walking is a good thing, but do you think 50,000 steps outweighs the amount of cheat days I see in my future. I’m hoping the answer is yes.

I'm a regular guy with a regular job. I write for fun, self-reflection and to possibly impart some of my thoughts on those that will listen. I do not claim to be an expert on anything, but have opinions on many things.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Men's Health

Leave a Reply

The Next ChallengeMarch 1st, 2015
The next challenge is right around the corner!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

