My Attempt At Weird Food

Since the beginning of the month, I’ve had some truly odd food…at least to me.

I’ve decided to pick up those items you see on the shelves and wonder to yourself…Who would eat that?

Call it what you will…

An attempt to expand my palate?  (No)

An attempt to see what other cultures are into?  (No)

An attempt to try weird stuff?  (Maybe)

One thing I do know…any food that isn’t in your normal repertoire of grocery shopping may seem weird at first.  Some of the odder things are quite delish!

Here are a few highlights from the month…

How about a lychee?

lychee

Pretty weird looking. Pretty delicious. Apparently they make martinis with this fruit.

Synopsis:  I will definitely buy again.

Some Mild Kim Chee?

Kim Chee

I was a little nervous with this one…specifically with the warnings all over the jar.  First of all…it says “contents under pressure.” I don’t particularly like the possibility of danger associated with my food. When I opened the jar…nothing happened. No pop! No fizz!  I thought this stuff was under pressure. Did I get a dud?  Then I took a whiff.  Now…I know Kim Chee has a smell, but this one must have turned bad. I threw it out. I couldn’t risk it.

Synopsis:  I will probably buy again….just to really try it this time.

Beets? Yes please.

Beets

Beets seem like a really hip food right now…so I picked up some pickled beets. Not too weird, but new to me. They are friggin’ good. I don’t remember ever eating a beet. They’ve always turned me off because of their awful name….and color…and ability to stain. I’m a changed man!  Bring on the beets!

Synopsis:  I will definitely buy again.

Try some shirataki…

shiritaki

 

These things just looked weird. There were a bunch of wet noodles in a bag. They tasted fine. Had 0 calories. I consider it a win-win!

Synopsis:  I will probably buy again.

 

 

I'm a regular guy with a regular job. I write for fun, self-reflection and to possibly impart some of my thoughts on those that will listen. I do not claim to be an expert on anything, but have opinions on many things.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Weird Food

Leave a Reply

The Next ChallengeMarch 1st, 2015
The next challenge is right around the corner!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

