The Cactus Pear

 

Cactus PearWhat the heck is this?  Was this pulled off a cactus?  Who was the first one to think to eat this?  Ridiculous!  It has thorns on it!  WHY WOULD ANYONE EAT THIS?

So…I tried it. I’ve got questions with all this odd fruit? Why isn’t it as popular as the apple or orange? Why doesn’t it get the same respect as the pear or the banana?  I’ll tell you why…because it’s a pain to peel and eat. It’s not worth you time with peeling and de-seeding.  Now, maybe I’m doing it wrong. Heck…I only watched the first 20 seconds of 2 YouTube videos to try to figure out how to eat it. So, I could be missing the point here.

I continued with my little experiment. I peeled it and sliced it. There are all these little seeds on the inside!….more than a watermelon.  Am I supposed to eat these or spit them out?  I’m not big on crunching seeds in my mouth, so naturally, I thought I had to spit them out. Let me tell you this…the fruit was not good enough to put the effort in to eat around the seeds and spit them out. I did not last too long with trying this thing.

Synopsis:  I will definitely not buy again.

I'm a regular guy with a regular job. I write for fun, self-reflection and to possibly impart some of my thoughts on those that will listen. I do not claim to be an expert on anything, but have opinions on many things.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Weird Food

Leave a Reply

The Next ChallengeMarch 1st, 2015
The next challenge is right around the corner!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

