Fitbit and IFTTT

Day 16 – More than halfway there.  I must admit…this is NOT a “challenge” at all.  I wear something on my wrist and walk. I’m not special.

What this challenge has made me do is take notice of my overall fitness level. The darn band has motivated me to be more active. Trickery at its finest.

The Fitbit has also forced me to look at some other fitness related apps, because I love me some synchronicity.

(Enter IFTTTIFTTT

IFTTT is a powerful service with an ever-expanding catalog of supported channels. The basics of IFTTT are to connect apps that don’t normally connect.

For example:

If there is a new post on craigslist with a specific pre-determined criteria, then IFTTT will send you an email….OR…If you are tagged in a photo on facebook, then IFTTT will upload that pic to a folder in dropbox…OR…If you have a new twitter follower, then IFTTT will create a google spreadsheet for you with their information. Get it? Some of these connections are super helpful. I’m no power user of IFTTT, but it can do a heck of a lot of stuff.

IFTTT has a Fitbit Channel.  Among other “triggers,” there are things like: If your daily goal is not achieved by :, then… or If there is a new weight logged, then…

I can see how some of the triggers are useful, but others I see no point.

So far, I made three Fitbit “recipes” I find useful:

  1. My daily activity will be saved in a google spreadsheet.
  2. If I achieve my step goal, that will be tweeted.
  3. My previous night’s sleep activity will be messaged to me.

Really…the combinations seem endless…but they are.

I read a pretty good forum post on the Fitbit community that raised some great questions over the functionality of the Fitbit Charge, IFTTT, and the tap function. I wonder if Fitbit could make any of this happen.

Steps taken as of this post: 164,394

I'm a regular guy with a regular job. I write for fun, self-reflection and to possibly impart some of my thoughts on those that will listen. I do not claim to be an expert on anything, but have opinions on many things.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Men's Health

Leave a comment

The Next ChallengeMarch 1, 2015
The next challenge is right around the corner!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.